Wake Forest University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Wake Forest University

Graduate School Home » News

Wake Forest Graduate Students Win Prestigious NIH Fellowships

Several students from the biomedical graduate programs have successfully competed for Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Awards (NRSAs) from the National Institutes of Health. These highly competitive awards provide stipend and tuition while the fellow pursues research projects in their mentor’s research laboratory. 

Interim Dean Godwin remarked, “It is a strong endorsement by the NIH to receive one of these prestigious fellowships. Our congratulations go out to these hard working students for achieving this mark of distinction as they begin their tenure as NRSA fellows.”

Dr. Ruth L. Kirschstein, for whom the award was named, achieved significant scientific accomplishments in polio vaccine development, became the first woman director of an NIH Institute, championed research training, and was a strong advocate for the inclusion of underrepresented individuals in the scientific workforce. 

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) awards the NRSA as a means of supporting predoctoral and postdoctoral research training to ensure a diverse and highly trained workforce to assume leadership roles in the biomedical, behavioral and clinical research fields. 

The Graduate School congratulates the following graduate student recipients and their mentors!

NRSA Recipients

Graduate Program

Year Awarded


NRSA Grant Titles

Lawrence Blume

Physiology and Pharmacology ‘08

July 2012

Allyn Howlett

Cannabinoid Receptor Interacting Protein 1a Structure-Function

Erin S. Calipari

Neuroscience ‘09

July 2012

Sara Jones

The effect of methylphenidate use and abuse on dopamine system kinetics

Joseph McQuail

Neuroscience ‘07

August 2011

Michelle Nicolle

Oxidative damage to receptor:G-protein coupling in the aged hippocampus

Andrew Rau

Neuroscience ‘10

August 2012

Jeff Weiner

Synaptic and Behavioral Correlates of Adenosinergic Signaling in the Basolateral Amygdala

Melissa A. Riegle

Neuroscience ‘09

September 2012

Dwayne Godwin

T-Channel Dysregulation during Alcohol Withdrawal: Mechanisms and Novel Therapies

Jackson Taylor

Neuroscience ’07

July 2011

Osvaldo Delbono

CaV beta1a as a Transcriptional Regulator of Muscle Regeneration and Sarcopenia

Qawi Telesford

Biomedical Engineering ‘08

April 2011

Paul Laurienti &
James Daunais

Network Theory Analysis of Ethanol Self Administering Non-Human Primates

Meghan Vidt

Biomedical Engineering ‘08

July 2012

Katherine R. Saul

Muscle function and compensation following rotator cuff tear in older adults

Jordan Yorgason

Neuroscience ‘08

August 2011

Sara Jones

Effects of Isolation Rearing on Dopamine Release and Reuptake


Not Pictured in Group Photo:

Click here to view group photos of students and their mentors.


NRSA Recipients & Mentors
(Click on Image for full view)


Erin Calipari

Erin Calipari


Jordan Yorgason

Jordan Yorgason


Dr. Sara Jones

Dr. Sara Jones